Congress Distinguished Lecturer 2016

IUFoST World Food Congresses traditionally include an address by a distinguished individual who carries a message consistent with the theme of the Congress, in this case "Greening the Global Food Supply Chain through Innovation in Food Science and Technology". An invitation to speak as the Distinguished Lecturer honours the contributions of the invitee and promotes the dissemination of important scientific information internationally. The Distinguished Lecturer recognises individuals who address IUFoST’s commitment to fight hunger and work for the improvement of food safety and food security worldwide. 

IUFoST is delighted to announce that this year’s distinguished lecturer is Prof. Mike Gibney. Prof. Gibney has worked as a teaching fellow at the University of Sydney where he took his PhD and has lectured at University of Southampton, Trinity College Dublin and University College Dublin. He is a former President of the Nutrition Society and a fellow of the International Union of Nutritional Sciences. He has served on many high-level international advisory committees both in the EU, the FAO and WHO. His research area is in public health and personalised nutrition, and he has published over 300 peer-reviewed papers in the area. He has been Principal Investigator on several very large EU funded projects, most recently in the area of personalised nutrition.

Past Distinguished Lecturers

Distinguished Lecturers at past IUFoST World Congresses have included:
Dr. Brian Keating (2014)
Director of the Sustainable Agriculture National Research Flagship within the Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organization (CSIRO)
Dr. Shenggen Fan (2012)
Director General of the international Food Policy Research Institute
Dr. Nina Fedoroff (2010)
Science and Technology Advisor to Secretaries of State Condoleezza Rice and Hilary Clinton

Dr. M.S. Swaminathan (2008)
pioneer of the Green Revolution and World Food Prize recipient
Dr. Catherine Bertini (2006)
former Executive Director of the World Food Programme and recipient of the World Food Prize
Dr. Ismail Serageldin (2003) the former Vice President of the World Bank and Head of the Library of Alexandria

Earlier Distinguished Lecturers/Founders Lecturers have included:
Professor Owen Fennema (2001);
Dr. Richard L. Hall (1999);
Professor J. F. Diehl (1995);
Professor Joseph Hulse (1991).


Michael Gibney
University College Dublin,
Institute of Food & Health